The Odds Are Against Us

The Odds Are Against Us is an short-story anthology of military fiction, published by Liberty Island Media.


When victory seems impossible…
…Heroism is the only option.

To survive on the battlefield, you must go far beyond what you ever imagined possible.

From a Marine in Vietnam trying to get back home, to Roman soldiers facing an Iceni rebellion; from cynical mercenaries in the harsh Chadian desert, to a Yazidi girl fighting for her freedom; from Soviet conscripts trying to survive war in Afghanistan, to American bomber pilots lost at sea.

Experience the triumph of the human spirit even in the face of death.

Includes eight short stories of military fiction from from skilled authors, some of whom are veterans themselves.

With works from…

Joseph Benedetto
Ron Farina
John Floyd
Jake Lithua
Sophie Michaels
Frank Scalise
Janis Snepsts
Jim Wilsky


OAAU Final Cover

Our Kickstarter page was here.


Author Bios:

Joseph Benedetto is a mystery author and horologist who was born in Germany, educated in Rome and lives on the edge of the Appalachians, where he adheres to the dictum put forth by James Bond: Follow your fate, and be satisfied with it. A former speculative fiction editor, he is an active member of the Mystery Writers of America with more than 40 stories and articles in print.

Ron Farina earned a B.A. in Creative Non-Fiction in 2015 from Central Connecticut State University. He served in Vietnam in 1966 and 1967. The author of several short stories on Vietnam, Unbreakable Embrace (2013), Names in a Can (2013), and the essay A Keyhole (2012) was featured on NPR and published in the magazine In-Country and Back (2012). Farina has also written a variety of business articles for The National Association of Personnel Services Magazine and produced his own national newsletter, The Compass. His award winning short story Unbreakable Embrace is published on-line, by the Pell Center for International Relations and Public Policy (2013). Farina’s unpublished works include Lexicon (2014), a collection of thirteen short stories based on true events during his tour in Vietnam, and the fictional memoir, When God Changed His Mind.

John M. Floyd’s work has appeared in more than 250 different publications, including Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery MagazineEllery Queen’s Mystery MagazineThe Strand MagazineThe Saturday Evening Post, and Best American Mystery Stories.  A former Air Force captain and IBM systems engineer, he is also a three-time Derringer Award winner and an Edgar Award nominee.  John’s seventh book, The Barrens, will be released in summer 2018.  His short fiction has been praised by James Patterson, Douglas Preston, Jan Burke, Nevada Barr, and many others.

Jake Lithua was forever corrupted at the age of 5, when he discovered his father’s Dungeons & DragonsBasic Set. Ever since, he has been interested in telling stories of heroism and courage, fantastical or real-world. Men of his family have served in America’s wars from WWI to Iraq and Afghanistan; Jake’s contribution to this anthology is his tribute to them, and to all who have served with honor. He lives far too close to Washington DC for anyone’s good.

Sophie G. Michaels was born in the rolling hills of eastern Pennsylvania, to a family of Army veterans. Her grandmother was an Army nurse in WWII, and her father served in Vietnam. Her boyfriend was in Afghanistan and Iraq, among other hot spots. They now live peacefully in Central Florida. Sophie uses her family’s rich storytelling heritage to create evocative stories in the genres of historical fiction, science fiction, and fantasy. Her works have been published in An Atlas to Time, Space, and BonfiresSynergy, the Compleat Anachronist, and several anthologies. She makes her home on the web at

Frank Scalise is a U.S. Army veteran (1986-91, Military Intelligence) and has a degree in History from Eastern Washington University. He is also a retired police officer, and has has written over twenty crime fiction novels under the pen name of Frank Zafiro.

Janis Snepsts, a native of Latvia, has served for the last nine years in the Latvian National Guard in a logistical support unit. He is deeply interested in history, especially military history, which he studied in university. His hobbies are writing fiction and drawing cartoons. This is his first official publication abroad.

Jim Wilsky is a writer of primarily crime fiction and historical fiction. He is the co-author of the three-book Aniaseries; Blood on Blood, Queen of Diamonds andClosing the Circle, including an upcoming prequel fourth book titled Harbinger, soon to be released by Down & Out Books. He has a short story collection coming out in early 2018, published by Down & Out books as well. His short story work has appeared in some of the most respected online magazines such as Flash Bang Mysteries, Shotgun Honey, Beat To A Pulp, All Due Respect, Yellow Mama, The Big Adios, A Twist of Noir, Rose & Thorn Journal, Pulp Metal, Fried Chicken and Coffee, Thrillers Killers & Chillers, Plots With Guns, and others. He has contributed stories in several published anthologies, including All Due Respect, Kwik Krimes and Both Barrels. He is supported and strengthened by a wonderful wife and two beautiful daughters.

%d bloggers like this: